Customer Service Representative or Not!

I have been talking to a lot of customer service representatives lately but the agent from Rogers Telecommunications stands out.

Back story: Husband wanted a new line as a gift to his nephew.  Being on a family shared plan, both of us know the ballpark price for the new line plus we were just offered a 25 $ additional line by another agent.  To cut the story short, I called.

After a minute and some redirects from the voice prompts, I was finally able to talk to a live agent. To anybody who has been in this situation re:  calling customer service, you know how long it takes to finally hear a real live persons voice.

The agent then goes on the process of verifying me and the account. The usual questions were asked: account name, address, postal code and an occasional birth date thrown in.

I then state my business, what I wanted to happen, what kind of phone I’m getting as part of the plan and other details:

Me: Hi! I would like to get an additional line for our account.  I have been offered a $25 additional line by one of your co-workers.

CSR: Hello! Sure let me take a look into your account.   Let me just put you on hold for a second.

Hi. I can see that you are on a family shared plan but I do not see any record that you have been offered an additional line in that amount.

Me:  Uhm okay.  But I am pretty sure about the offer. Can you please take a look again?

CSR:  There is nothing here that indicates anything of that sort.

Me: I insist that you look further in our records, because it is definitely there.

CSR: Let me put you on hold again.

After a minute or so…

Again I tell you there is nothing on record. Why don’t you get a new line instead .

Me:  Hmm. Okay but I can have it as an additional line in our family shared plan right?

CSR: No. It is an entirely independent new line.  Separate from what you have right now.

Me: Why? Don’t you have any offer that will serve as an additional line?

CSR: You are just telling me the same thing. You are not listening to me.  I told you, if you want an additional line you will get a new line instead. Separate of what you have right now.  With its own data plan.

Me: So you really won’t offer me an additional line regardless of the cost.  You are telling to get a new line.

CSR: Yes.

Me: Alright then. So how much will it cost me if I order now a Samsung Galaxy siii phone from you with the lowest data plan that you have.

CSR: There is a lot to choose from.  You can check the website now and tell me what you want. I don’t know your preferences plus the fact that if you’ll order this through me, you will receive your phone by middle of January and regardless of the length of time you waited for your phone, you will start paying for it now.

I tell you, you are better off to buy it in store than through me.

Me: *dumbfounded*

CSR:  In the store you have all the choices plus the physical phones where you can actually choose what you most want.

Me: Is that all you’re going to say?

CSR: Yes Maria. I suggest you go to a Rogers store.

Me: Bye.

That is the conversation that left me wondering if I was really talking to a Customer Service Representative or I have called a wrong number.  Instead of offering me the best possible choice, she directed me to their store.  I don’t know how their Customer Service works but most definitely not like that based on my experience.  As I said, I have called them countless of times from the minutest detail, to ordering a new phone but never encountered one like her until last week.  Mostly, CSR’s are very knowledgeable and will offer the best possible solution no matter what your concern is.

I did call the next day and have my concerns addressed properly plus some freebies thrown in.  I was able to get an additional line to our family shared plan.  Three (3) lines, sharing 2 GB of data plan.  Additional line costs only $25.

3 thoughts on “Customer Service Representative or Not!

  1. Pingback: Customer Service Representative or Not!

Leave a comment