Update on Typhoon Bopha (Pablo) and Typhoon Washi (Sendong) Remembrance

I’m supposed to post an update from the Typhoon Bopha / Pablo but have been sidetracked by things and left it unfinished.

Anyway, two days after the typhoon hit my home town I was able to talk to my mother but before that I got a text from her and my sister with the news that everything is alright.  Our house remained standing after the signal #3.  According to my mom to spare herself from stress, she closed the windows and started cooking but she can hear the winds.  There were 6 reported fatalities.

On the other side of the island where typhoon made landfall, victims are still waiting for relief to come by.  Devastation, loss of life, source of  income and simply the way of living is as such that some people left, evacuate from their homes for good.  These people mostly come from Davao Oriental where livelihoods are from banana and coconut plantation.

Aside from an update from the typhoon, this is also serves as remembrance as  the 1st year anniversary of Typhoon Washi / Sendong that hit Mindanao especially Cagayan de Oro and Iligan last year.

I remember it, as if it only happened yesterday.  The horror of the images I saw from the people swept by the flashfloods will be forever etched in my memory.

image

Leave a Reply

