This Time Five Years Ago

This time 5 year ago. My first glimpse of Canada. An immigrant.  Looking forward to the great opportunity, that of becoming a Canadian citizen.I

Looking back to that day, I almost didn’t recognize that skinny wide eyed girl. Scared stiff and cold.

I first step on Canada soil in Vancouver International Airport. Uhm, not really soil per se as it is cement but you know what I mean.  Vancouver, how can I forget you.  The memory of me cowering in the corner trying to appear as small as possible, eating a much needed lunch and maintaining a semblance of control when all I wanted to do is curl up and cry.

Alone. In an airport. In a city. Transient.  Who still has to check in for her connecting flight to Toronto. Jet lagged.

Considering that before that almost nervous break down, I faced a very stern looking Canadian Border Officer, I can say I survived Vancouver and seems like Toronto as well.

Five years to the day and thriving.

The experience has taught me a lot about myself and about other people as well. I have learned lessons both in good and bad way.  I have met people that left me with nothing and I have met people that have given me so much as well.  But the most gratifying experience of all and the most memorable is meeting my future husband and consequently giving birth to 2 beautiful human beings.

I took a very circuitous way in migrating to Canada and not the most ideal but the best part was knowing that I took a risk and succeeded in the end.

I used to look upon those who take a job less desirable than what they are used too but not anymore.  The past 7 years or so of my life is the testament that it is not only your upbringing nor your education that will make you a success but it takes a lot of guts, of courage to overcome obstacle, to lower your standards from time to time to achieve your dream, to reach your goals and to always have faith that everything will be alright.

I guess my position now as a stay at home mom is a reward for that arduous journey that I made.  I will be forever thankful to the people that has been part of my journey. To my family, my relatives and friends. And to Papa God for never leaving my side.

And to the one person who believed in me but never able to see the fruit of my labour, thank you Papang Pilo.  I know you are with Papa God now and I know also that you are watching over me, my family and the rest of your children.  Thank you for instilling in us the courage to journey to the unknown.

Five years. One husband. Two beautiful children.

Life is good.  You only have to believe in yourself. Believe in God.

Thank you.

image

Leave a Reply

