DIY – My First Prayer Booklet

It’s been a couple of weeks now that my daughter does not want to pray with us.  As our bedtime routine apart from the bedtime stories, Angel of God is a big part of it and now every time we start doing the sign of the cross, a prelude to the actual prayer, she starts screaming.  To make her interested again I am making this Do-It-Yourself prayer booklet.

I am using MS Word for the lay out as I am much more adept in it than, say Publisher and the angel images that I used are all from the internet, so credit goes to whomever drew these wonderful angel colouring images.

I have been at it since this morning and so far I have 75% success rate.

75% Success

75% Success

Above is a screen capture using MS Word Snipping Tool.  I used a 2 column lay out  and plan on just cutting it half and  using a yarn to sew the edge and make a little book.  I thought that yarn is colourful and will make it more attractive to my 2 year old but I remembered how much fun she had untangling the balloon string from where we tied it, so change of plans.  Now I have to redo the lay out and make it so in a way that I will just fold it to form the little booklet.  So here’s to another hour of lay outing.  Skills are a bit rusty so it is taking a long time. Whew~

angel screencap_final

The above image is what I ended up printing.  Considering the fact that my 2 year old won’t really have any idea on the aesthetic, let alone that 2 column lay out that I made, I opt for this one- whole page print out.  Bigger pictures, more space to colour, much more fun.

 

 

Leave a Reply

